Johann Sebastian Bach, Concerto II

BWV 593 (after L'Estro Armonico Op. 3, No. 8 by Antonio Vivaldi)

BA05136 90 1 co lrg


  • transcription for solo violoncello solo and string orchestra
  • duration c. 11 min.
  • World Premiere on 8 August 2013 in Ansbach by Sol Gabetta and Cappella Gabetta
  • published by:


Description (Bärenreiter):

Johann Sebastian Bach’s famous concerto for organ BWV 593 is an arrangement of Antonio Vivaldi’s concerto op. 3 no. 8 from “L’Estro Armonico” for two solo violins, strings and basso continuo.

Our new edition, in turn, is an arrangement of this organ concerto and has been scored for violoncello solo, strings and basso continuo. It was commissed for the renowned cellist Sol Gabetta who premiered it at the 2013 Bachwoche in Ansbach, a famous music festival in southern Germany.

The composer and arranger Joachim F. W. Schneider provides an idiomatic arrangement and cellists will welcome this addition to their repertoire.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by